Home / About WHU / WHU's Leadership / School Leader / Content
WHU's Leadership
Dou Xiankang
Author:  Date:2017-03-10  Clicks:



Professor Dou Xiankang, born in Sixian, Anhui Province in January 1966, started his career in space physics in July 1987 and was appointed as the president of Wuhan University in December 2016.

President Dou Xiankang received his bachelor’s degree from the Department of Earth and Space Sciences at the University of Science and Technology of China (USTC) in July 1987, and Ph.D. degree from the Paris Diderot University in France in June 1993. He continued his postdoctoral training at the Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (CNRS) in France between June 1993 and February 1995. From February 1995, he started teaching at the USTC and was promoted to professor in January 2000. He was awarded The National Science Fund for Distinguished Young Scholars in 2010 and the funds for Innovative Research Group by the National Natural Science Foundation of China in 2011, with special government allowances from the State Council. He was selected as a member of Chinese Academy of Sciences in November, 2017.

In addition to academic titles, President Dou has taken on a number of administrative positions: the deputy director of the Department of Earth and Space Sciences of the USTC from May 1997 to February 2001; the deputy Director and the deputy Secretary of the CPC Branch of the Department of Earth and Space Sciences from February 2001 to January 2002; the executive vice dean and the secretary of the CPC Branch of the School of Earth and Space Sciences from January 2002 to November 2003; the assistant to the president, the executive vice dean and the secretary of the CPC Branch of the School of Earth and Space Sciences from November 2003 to June 2004; the assistant to the president and the executive dean of the School of Earth and Space Sciences from June 2004 to September 2005; the vice president and a member of the Standing Committee of the CPC of the USTC from September 2005 to May 2015; and the executive deputy party secretary and the vice president of the USTC from May 2015 to December 2016; a member of the Provincial Party Committee of Anhui Province in November 2016; and president of Wuhan University from December 2016.

President Dou’s academic interests are theoretical, observational and experimental research on the stratosphere and mesosphere. He led his team to independently develop two advanced experimental systems, namely, the Mie-Rayleigh-Na fluorescence dual wavelength laser radar and vehicle-carried Doppler wind radar, as well as a corresponding observation base. The use of the facility and the laser radars was the first time for China to observe the wind field of the stratosphere and mesosphere above the troposphere, which has laid a solid foundation for the research of the dynamics of the stratosphere and mesosphere. Based on the independently-developed observation equipment, a series of systematic and innovative achievements in the dynamics of the mesosphere, and photochemistry were made by him when he discovered the correlation between the complicated changes of mesosphere, thermosphere and lower atmosphere wave.

President Dou has published more than 100 academic papers in international SCI journals such as JGR, which have been quoted more than 800 times by others, and won 19 National Invention Patents. From 2013, he was appointed as director of the Key Laboratory of Geospace Environment of the Chinese Academy of Sciences (CAS), and has built his research team around the study of the stratosphere and mesosphere; its members include 3 winners of The National Science Fund for Distinguished Young Scholars, 1 winner of The Excellent Young Scientist Foundation of NSFC, and 1 member of the “One Hundred Talents” Program of the CAS. In 2009, he won the prize of Supervisor of the National Excellent 100 Doctoral Dissertation Program. Now he is also the principal investigator of several key scientific research programs of the CAS and national 863 Project.



Prev Section:Tang Qizhu

[ Close ]

Copyright @ 2014 Wuhan University