v History

As one of pioneer chemistry institutions in China, College of Chemistry and Molecular Sciences (CCMS) of Wuhan University can be dated back to 1893 when Governor Zhi-dong Zhang founded a chemistry school. It was finally named Department of Chemistry under the Science-Engineering College of the newly-formed National Wuhan University in 1928. Professor Xinggong Wang took the first Chair of the Department. In August 2000, Wuhan University, Wuhan Hydraulic Engineering & Electric Power Institute, Wuhan University of Surveying & Mapping Science & Technology, and Hubei Medical University were amalgamated to the New Wuhan University. Consequently, the College of Chemistry and Molecular Sciences was organized from all the relevant academic branches in January, 2001.

For dozens of years, the department has trained and brought up numerous chemistry professionals and eminent entrepreneurs. According to incomplete figures, 15 academicians of China Academy of Sciences & China Academy of Engineering either graduated from the department or taught in the department. Among them, Zhaolun Zeng, Jun Ke , Shaoyi Peng , Fusong Wang,Yufeng Ji , Changgong Zhuang, Baogong Qiang, Xiaozeng You, Rongti Chen ,Quan-xing Zha , Yuansheng Jiang , Renxi Zhuo and Li-na Zhang are academicians of China Academy of Sciences; two of them,  Junwu Liang and Gaoyong Zhang, are academicians of China Academy of Engineering.

v Organization


Institute of Inorganic Chemistry

Institute of Organic Chemistry

Institute of Physical Chemistry

Research Center of Analytical Chemistry

Department of Polymer Chemistry

Department of Applied Chemistry

Analytical and Testing Center

Chemistry Experiment Teaching Center

Key Laboratories and Center

Key Laboratory of Biomedical Polymer of the Ministry of Education

Key Laboratory of Biomedical Analytical Chemistry of the Ministry of Education

Engineering Research Center of Organic Silicon Compound Materials of the Ministry of Education

Provincial Key Laboratory of Chemical Power Source Materials and Technology

Provincial Key Laboratory of Organic Polymer Optoelectronic Materials


     • General Office

     • Teaching and Research Office

     • Student Office

v Teaching and Research Foundation

CCMS now is the key construction unit of 211 & 985 Project implemented by the state, entitled to awarding Doctor’s degree of Chemistry as the first-level discipline, having ten majors awarding Master’s degree, and establishing a center for post-doctoral studies. The College now has one State Key Discipline: Analytical Chemistry, and three Provincial Key Disciplines: Physical Chemistry, Organic Chemistry, and Polymer Chemistry.

We also bear 1 Innovation Team of National Natural Science Foundation, 2 Creative Groups of the Ministry of Education, 1 Teaching Group on the national level, and 1 “111 Project” of the State Administration of Foreign Experts Affairs.

National Characteristic SpecialtyChemistry

National Teaching GroupTeaching Group of Chemistry Basic Courses                                                                                          

National Quality Course: Inorganic Chemistry, Analytical Chemistry, Physical  Chemistry, Foundation of Chemical Engineering, Chemical Experiment

National Bilingual Language Model Teaching Course: Inorganic Chemsitry

Provincial Brand Specialty: Applied Chemistry

Provincial Quality Course: Organic Chemistry

v Recent Development

Chemistry in Wuhan University has ranged into top1‰ ranking in the world ESI since 2013. In 2017, Chemistry was selected by the Ministry as one of the key construction disciplines of the national “Plan for the Construction of Globally-leading Universities and First-class Disciplines”, being one of the ten disciplines in Wuhan University.

(*Updated on December 31st 2017.)

Copyright @ 2014 Wuhan University